guy and girl with pencils in hand

Peter C. Bertucci Scholarship Program

Let Us Help You Pay For College!

Peter C. Bertucci served as a teacher and administrator for several years before becoming superintendent of the Jefferson Parish Public School System from 1969-1973. In the namesake of our founder, Jefferson Financial FCU proudly offers $1,000 Scholarships to twenty-four (24) High School Graduates who demonstrate academic excellence, commitment to community, and are members of the Credit Union.

Over the past twenty-four (24) years, we have awarded over $400,000 to High School Graduates, Schools and Teachers. Jefferson Financial is honored to play a small role in our young Members' journey to financial success.

2024 Scholarship Program Updates

A big Congratulations to our recipients! Click on the button below to view the list of 2024 recipients.
Thank you to everyone who applied.

--- Check back here for our 2025 Scholarship Program announcements and updates ---
Questions? Contact Emily Rebert at or call 800.259.2471 ext. 124

The following will be awarded:

  • $1,000 Scholarship Check awarded to Twenty-Four (24) Winners for their post-secondary education
  • $200 Check Awarded to each winning recipient's Sponsoring High School Teacher

Eligibility requirements include the following:

  • Graduating High School Senior for the 2023-2024 school year
  • Current Grade Point Average of 2.5 or higher
  • Demonstrate academic excellence and school / community involvement
  • Enroll in an accredited two-year or four-year college, university or vocational school for the 2024-2025 academic year
  • Member of Jefferson Financial FCU upon awarding
*Credit Union employees, related to Credit Union employees, Board Members and related to Board Members are NOT eligible to participate.

Application packets submitted must include:

  • Completed Application
  • Official High School Transcripts from your counselor's office (may be mailed separately)
  • Resume / Extracurricular Activity List (during high school years only) of extracurricular clubs, sports, community service / volunteer organizations, work experience, etc. Denote the number of years participated and any leadership roles held in each
  • Essay: 300 - 500 words using the fillable Essay Form within the packet, choose one of two topics
  • One (1) Letter of Recommendation from a member of the community, teacher or mentor who is not related to you (may be mailed separately)

Our selection process:

  • Incomplete or late Application Packets will not be accepted
  • Applicants will be reviewed and judged by the Jefferson Financial FCU Scholarship Committee
  • All applicants will be notified whether or not they have been selected as a Scholarship recipient by Friday, June 7, 2024

Important Dates:

  • Email completed scholarship packets by Friday, March 15, 2024 to
  • OR Mail entire completed packet by Friday, March 8, 2024, to the address below:
Jefferson Financial FCU
ATTN: Scholarship Program
7701 Airline Drive
Metairie, LA 70003

*Incomplete or late application packets will not be accepted.